A Day in the Ad Life: Bridget Sheehan

27 09 2007

Every Thursday look for another edition of “A Day in the Ad Life”. I’ve challenged my friends to detail their lives in advertising, and I’m going to post them here. I will try to fill in where I can about my own experiences as well. You can see my first “day in the life” post here. This week, Bridget Sheehan outlines her new media planning job.

bridget.JPGA Day in the Ad Life: Bridget Sheehan

Ever since my first class at Ithaca College I was determined to work at an advertising agency, Scott Hamula just made it sound so cool. Throughout my four years at Ithaca I went back and fourth between loving and hating everything about the corporate ad world. Did I really want to work for companies like Wal-Mart and Pfizer?

To figure that out I joined the American Advertising Federation, participated in group projects, interned at 3 separate agencies and almost died at least 8 times when I joined Ad Lab (I won’t even get into that). What I realized was that there were more opportunities than just working for a drug company or making money for companies you hate. There are businesses like The Change Strategy that help good-for-the-world brands grow by making the most of their conviction, personality and sense of mission. There are also opportunities to work for big companies that you do respect or love, for me that might be Apple or H&M. Bottom line, I decided I did want to work for an agency, it’s what I love. I just wasn’t going to change my morals to do so.

So I set up interviews, took charge, and moved to NYC. My first two interviews in the city were with teams working for big time pharmaceuticals. No, Thank You. I moved on. I interviewed with 3 separate people at an agency I had visited once before. I loved the people, the account, and the offices. I left feeling pretty good about my interview. Thankfully I got a call back (the next day!) saying they liked me but that still didn’t mean they would hire me.

I moped around Brooklyn until Wednesday when HR called and said I was hired, it was glorious. Now, here I sit, Assistant Digital Media Planner. Soon I will have a business card and I will have been here long enough to explain to you exactly what I do. For now I will say my job is: meeting with vendors like Comedy Central, trying to figure out the acronyms my co-workers use, getting a lot (maybe too much?) free food, staring at flow charts and excel documents with lots of $$, and getting invited to a lot of parties with open bars. It’s an absolutely amazing job. Like sophomore audience research, only with Health Insurance and Perks!

Bridget also likes riding bikes and everything 80s. “A Day in the Ad Life” is printed on Thursdays.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 10 2007
Becky Carroll

This is a great feature, Jeff. I look forward to reading more installments.

4 10 2007
A Day in the Ad Life: Andrea Baraiola « How to Not Get a Job in Advertising

[…] A Day in the Ad Life: Andrea Baraiola 4 10 2007 Every Thursday look for another edition of “A Day in the Ad Life”. I’ve challenged my friends to detail their lives in advertising, and I’m going to post them here. I will try to fill in where I can about my own experiences as well. You can see my first “day in the life” post here, and Bridget Sheehan’s post from last week here. […]

Leave a Reply

