Bodypaint is Back! (But I Still Don’t Get Diesel)

24 08 2007

The prolific day of posting continues here at Big Words! Man, if I posted like this every day, I could blog for a job (and not get paid, but in a perfect world).

So a while ago I posted a short commentary on Diesel’s Body Painting ad. In summary, I didn’t get the ad at all, or the campaign. Nor did I know it was for Diesel, or clothing of any kind.

Little did I know, that some marketing genius decided this was a great way to build buzz around Diesel clothing. And now, after a few weeks, I have some more information on this campaign, and in favor of equal coverage, I will share it with everyone.

diesel_naturepreview.jpg


First, I was told by a reader that I was doing a great job of spreading the buzz for Diesel by putting the video up on my blog. And perhaps that is true. I’m sure plenty of people were sitting on the edge of their chairs, drooling in anticipation of the cliff hanger to this campaign.

Second, I got a personal email from Eric and Zara, who I assume by their Ogilvy emails are working on the Diesel account. I think that’s awesome, they tracked the spread of the video and personally thanked people who helped build their buzz, free of charge. Definitely great PR.

But can anyone explain this campaign to me? Does anyone really know what it means? To me, this is a campaign that has been communicated so well, but with such crappy content.

I asked a media planner a few years ago if it was frustrating to work all day placing ads, trying to get them in front of the best audience, at the best time, in the best situation – and then have the ads suck. His eyes welled up a little, and he said, “yes.” He couldn’t go on for fear of losing it.

And that, my friends, has happened here. People like Eric and Zara are out performing great PR for the campaign, but the “big idea” is bad – in my opinion. Please feel free to comment and tell me how great this campaign is, or if you agree with me.

Agency Spy recently dedicated a post to this campaign (man, this day has been all about Agency Spy!). It includes the new video ads. Either they are still trying to build buzz, or I still don’t get it. And I think I might be in the target demo for these products, so don’t try arguing that. As Agency Spy says, the art direction is good, and it looks to fit into Diesel’s overall image, which is important to me. But the tag, “no fuel for life in my life” is just so stupidly confusing.

Is the perfume (I don’t believe in using cologne so it doesn’t exist to me) called “fuel”? Or “no fuel for life”? No, it’s called Elixir – WHAT? Alright I gotta end this post before I start bleeding from the ears. Seriously? Ogilvy I am disappointed. No, I’m not putting the videos or the website in this post as links. I simply don’t want any more visitors to this campaign’s website. Man, I feel like I need a nap.

Diesel ad, as stupid and pompous as it is, provided lovingly by Ads of the World.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

