Ahhh…the beach

2 08 2007

So I’m relaxing at the beach for the rest of the week. After a whole bunch of non-work, I think I deserve it!This has been a great week. Thanks so much to everyone for all the emails and comments. It’s great to know that someone out there is reading my rants and raves.Here’s a set of ads I found today thanks to Adverbox. They are for Scott Kitchen towels, and took a silver medal this year at Cannes 2007.I love when I see (what I think is) a completely new idea. And on top of it, this one is simple and straight forward. It displays a great attribute of the product quickly and easily. I’m not sure how well this would translate to, say, a billboard, but it would definitely work for television as well.Sometimes I think companies and ideas have gotten too complicated. If it takes more than a few seconds, or a TV ad to understand the concept, then just maybe it’s overcomplicated. By simplifying, I think the concept will last longer and connect to your audience better. But anyway, I really enjoy these ads, which were done by JWT, Kuala Lumpur, by the way.The only other update I have to give is on the Intel ad from the other day. According to a post on Agency Spy, McCann Erickson was the creator of this ad. Now, I’m not gonna lie to anybody, I’ve applied to McCann. I’m still waiting on a response, after many many calls and emails. Now they put out work like this? I’m not going to guarantee I would put out better work than this, but I definitely wouldn’t anger a significant portion of my customer base either.That ad is still just bizarre to me. But again, I think it was just a really bad mental mistake, and got past a creative director on a bad, bad day.Well, another day and no job! But life is good. I hope everyone is having a great day, see you next post.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

